Skip Navigation

Fourth and fifth Grade Curriculum


Students in fourth and fifth grade are exposed to a challenging curriculum designed to encourage students to become engaged, active learners.  Students participate in a variety of rigorous and relevant activities throughout the school-day to engage them in the learning process.  Relationships are established to instill virtues, knowledge, understanding, and skills necessary for moral, intellectual, and physical development.  Teachers use a variety of methods, such as group activities (cooperative learning), individual activities, student-initiated activities, teacher-directed activities, and computer/iPad activities.

The curriculum devotes no less than fifty percent of the school-day to the skill subjects of language arts and mathematics.  Religion, science, and social studies include literacy based skills.   In all subjects, lessons are planned using the Baton Rouge Diocesan standards, which are adapted from the common core curriculum standards.  Teachers collaborate within grade levels and subject areas to plan, analyze and asses student progress.


Religion Program


To help students strive for spiritual growth, the fourth and fifth grade Religion curriculum is rooted in the Catholic faith.  Students learn prayers, traditions, and values.  They learn the history of Jesus' life and death, as well as the history of the church through the years.  Students learn that they are beautiful children of God and that God loves them.

Fourth and fifth graders utilize Sadlier's "We Believe" program. In fourth grade, students focus on their faith journey with Christ through the following overarching topics:  Growing in Faith, Commandments, Commandments Help Us Love, and Called to Holiness.  In fifth grade, students gain a deeper understanding of the seven sacraments and the meaning of God's grace. 



Math Program



The math program for fourth and fifth graders includes hands on activities, project based learning and technology.  Students work in peer groups to foster interaction and engagement.  Students also work individually to improve personal skills

Fourth and fifth grade students focus on the following mathematical concepts and skills: place value and money, adding and subtracting whole numbers and money, multiplication and division concepts and facts, time, data, graphs, multiplying by one and two digit numbers, division, geometry, measurement, fractions, probability, and pre-algebra concepts.


English Language Arts Program



Language Arts is a vital part of the curriculum for fourth and fifth grade students.  Students learn using a variety of strategies, including small group collaboration, partner-sharing, peer-leading, and individual practice for improvement.   Teachers use work stations to enhance the language arts curriculum for practice and assessment.  They utilize leveled readers, anthology selections, interactive charts, iPads, and much more

The Language Arts Program at St. Theresa Middle is broken into two subjects English and Reading.

In English classes, students focus on grammar, language mechanics, and writing. Students work at grade appropriate levels to build grammar skills, writing techniques, grammar application as well as speaking skills. Teachers utilize writing skills to produce a variety of narrative and informational writing pieces.

In Reading classes, the focus is on analyzing fiction and nonfiction texts using a variety of strategies and methods. Students are taught reading skills that can be applied to a multitude of genres.  Literature circles and small group activities are often used to allow students to gain a deeper understanding of the texts that they read.


Science Program


In Science lessons, students are actively involved by using the Scientific Method.  Students utilize process skills to test, collect data, make conclusions, and tell what they learn, utilizing a variety of strategies, such as partner-sharing, small group collaboration, and more.  Projects and experiments are used to further engage students in the learning process. 

At St. Theresa Middle, students have access to a fully equipped Science lab where teachers can work with classes to aid in a deeper understanding of the concepts they are teaching.  Students in fourth and fifth grade will expand their knowledge on topics such as life science, physical science, earth science and the human body.

Social Studies Program


The Social Studies curriculum in fourth and fifth grade is aligned with the Diocesan standards and state benchmarks.  Fourth grade students are exposed to the following: geography concepts, United States government and regions, world regions, and citizenship. They also focus on skills such as mapping and charting.

Fifth grade students explore topics such as ancient Americans, world explorations, early settlers, colonies, The American Revolution, The Civil War, and Immigration effects. 

Students are exposed to a variety of higher order thinking strategies such as graphic organizers and literacy skills.